The Amazing Experience of Fundraising

Sorry everyone! I switched over to this website because the other one was kinda glitchy.  This is the post that I had written the night before I left for 4k!

The most amazing feeling

It’s getting late at night, around midnight or so, and it was my second weekend out selling pizza and water to college students at a hot spot on the weekends.  I was physically exhausted, however I tried to keep my head up high as I kept getting shot down by people as I projected my voice in order to draw attention to my fundraising.  Three guys came up to my table where my girlfriend and sister were selflessly helping my endeavors in raising funds for the Ulman Cancer Fund (UCF).  These guys were interested in the cause and I started talking to one of them about the 4k For Cancer and all about the UCF.   He suddenly reached into his pocket and pulled out $20 and handed it to me.  I was completely stunned and taken a back by his generosity when he began to tell me about his brother had testicular cancer ever since he was born and how he understands the struggles of loving someone with cancer.  His two other friends reached into their pockets and handed me more money.  At the end of that conversation, I ended up with $50 out of no where which made me realize one thing: fundraising gives you a new perspective on life.

All leading up to the big day

As soon as I signed up for 4k, it finally dawned on me how much $4,500 actually was, and I had a mini panic attack on trying to figure out how to raise that much money.  However, as of now, I have raised over $4,800 and I couldn’t have done it without the most loyal friends, family, and the random strangers who have restored my faith in humanity and the love of the good will in humans.  I still cannot believe that I already had dinner with my team on Friday, and a long training day on Saturday.  It still has not completely hit me that I WILL BE BIKING ACROSS THE COUNTRY TODAY, but I’m sure it will soon enough.  Even though we haven’t started on this trip yet, I feel as if I have been on this journey ever since I signed up back in the Fall, and I look forward to every moment after this one to continue on this journey.

“Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore.” – Andre Gide

My eyes are starting to get heavy, but I’m not sure my body will let me because of my excitement.  Unfortunately if my mother caught me up this late, I will probably be chastised to no end, so with that, I bid you all a good night, and to many memories to be made.

Leave a Reply

